Whiteline Tarmac Rallysprint Round 1 Wrap Up

/Whiteline Tarmac Rallysprint Round 1 Wrap Up

A warm spring sunset welcomed drivers, co-drivers and event staff to Sydney Dragway this week to celebrate the opening round of the 2016 Whiteline Tarmac Rallysprint series. After a great reception in 2015, the North Shore Sporting Car Club in association with Whiteline and a range of sponsors including V-Sport, has arranged for a 5-event twilight series in 2016 that will see a growing number of drivers compete on a custom-designed course without cutting into precious weekend time. The reallysprint race format gives teams 5 runs to set their best times, with the 3 fastest runs cumulating to form the teams’ result.


Round one attracted 88 entries, including Subaru’s Molly Taylor, Neal Bates in a Lancia Stratos, and Rick Bates in the ROH wheels 86 car, still hot off the track from World Time Attack the previous weekend — but it would be Phil Heafey & co-driver Greg Stock in a Lancer Evolution VI who would take the win with a winning time of 6:29.9 ahead of 2nd place Matt Cole/Matt Sydenham & 3rd place Neal Bates / Coral Taylor. The ROH Wheels 86 piloted by Rick Bates would take 8th place with a 6:47.7.


Round 2 of the Whitline Twilight Tarmac Rallysprint Series will be held at Sydney Dragway on Tuesday, November 22.
For all series details including results from round 1, click through to the North Shore Sporting Car Club website: nsscc.com.au/twilight-rallysprint/

Images courtesy of Dave Oliver Photo / DOPHOTO — www.dophoto.com.au / Facebook


Leave A Comment